FAQ About Drunk Driving Charges In Wisconsin

For more than 19 years, the Law Offices of Christy M. Hall, LLC, has been defending people charged with DUI/OWI in Racine and throughout the surrounding areas of Wisconsin. Here are a few of the most common questions we receive:

Can I Simply Keep Driving Until I Get A "Guilty" Or "Not Guilty" Verdict?

No. If you are arrested and charged with drunk driving, you must take action in order to have any hope of preserving your driving privileges. If you do nothing, the Department of Motor Vehicles will automatically suspend your driver's license 10 days after your arrest. This is true whether or not your DUI/OWI case has been heard in court yet or not, so don't wait to contact a lawyer.

What Are The Penalties If I'm Convicted?

The exact penalties you will face depend on the details of your particular situation. In general, however, here are a few consequences to consider:

  • Jail time — In Wisconsin, jail time is not imposed for a first drunk driving offense. If this is not your first offense, you can expect to spend time behind bars. The length of time will depend on the number of prior convictions, your blood alcohol content (BAC), whether or not there was a minor in the car with you, whether or not you submitted to testing, and other factors.
  • Lost driving privileges — Even a first offense carries serious penalties when it comes to your driver's license. You can expect to lose your driving privileges for at least six months for your first conviction.
  • Fines — Even a first offense can carry a fine of $650 or more, and the amount keeps increasing with every subsequent conviction.
  • Vehicle forfeiture — If this is your third or fourth conviction for drunk driving, you may lose your car completely. The state can seize it and keep it permanently — leaving you without transportation and without a valuable asset.
  • Sky-high insurance rates — You can expect your insurance rates to increase dramatically. In addition, you may have trouble obtaining enough liability coverage to protect yourself and your family in the future.

Is My Case Hopeless If The Breath Test Results Were Over The Legal Limit?

You should never assume that your case can't be won. Instead, you should talk with a defense attorney about your options. Why? Because not all test results are accurate. In addition, law enforcement officers don't always follow proper procedures during traffic stops or arrests. If they violated your rights, it may be possible to get the case dismissed, regardless of the test results.

Get specific legal advice you need about your unique situation by calling the Law Offices of Christy M. Hall, LLC, at 262-822-3187 . You can also arrange a free initial consultation by emailing us today.